As of today, November 1, drivers with an instruction permit or probationary license are prohibited from using a cellular or other wireless telephone while driving.
In Wisconsin, anyone learning to drive must first obtain an instruction permit. You are eligible for an instruction permit at age 15-1/2. A probationary license can be issued if you are at least 16-years-old and have held an instruction permit for six months.
In addition to new drivers, probationary licenses are required for the following:
- Drivers licensed in other countries.
- Persons with suspended or revoked instruction permits or probationary licenses.
- New state residents who have fewer than three years of driving experience.
- New state residents under the age of 21.
- New state residents who surrender a license that is expired for more than six months.
Wisconsin law also prohibits texting while driving for all motorists of all ages. That law went into effect in December 2010.
32 states and the District of Columbia have already banned all cell phone use by novice drivers.
Read more: www.dot.wisconsin.gov
In 2011, Nevada banned handheld cell phone use.
As of January 1, 2012, fines up to $250 are imposed for using a handheld phone or similar device to talk, read or type. This includes surfing the internet, texting, electronic messaging and instant messaging.
The free DMV tests at driversprep.com are now updated with the new laws regarding cell phone use.
The law states that the use of a handheld cell phone or other handheld wireless communications device to engage voice communications is prohibited.
You may use a handheld cellphone only to report an emergency, and only if stopping the vehicle would be inadvisable, impractical or dangerous.
Not only is cell phone use while driving banned in Nevada, but you are up to four times more likely to crash when driving while talking on a cell phone.
It is important to remember that there are more than 3,500 distraction-related crashes in Nevada every year. Across the nation, nearly 5,500 people died and half a million were injured in crashes involving a distracted driver in 2009.
Make any necessary phone calls before or after driving. If you must make a call while driving, pull over to a safe area such as a parking lot before making or receiving a call or texting.