When Can You Drive Faster Than the Speed Limit?

Driving faster than the speed limit

 

In general, it does not matter what your reasons are. Driving faster than the posted speed limit is illegal in all states.

The posted speed limit is always the maximum speed permitted on that particular road. Sometimes you must drive slower than the posted speed limit. You may never drive faster than what is reasonable and prudent under current conditions. Reduce speed when weather is bad, or when there are potential hazards on the road.

In Minnesota, the speed limit on two-lane highways with a posted speed limit of 55 mph or higher is increased by 10 mph when the driver is lawfully passing another vehicle in the same direction.

 

Advertisements

Minnesota Free Driver’s License Test

Minnesota driver's  manual

 

To qualify and obtain an instruction permit or a driver’s license you must pass a knowledge test.

The Minnesota knowledge test contains multiple choice and true or false questions. It evaluates your knowledge and understanding of Minnesota traffic laws and road signs.

Before taking the test, you must show proper identification. If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a certificate of enrollment (“Blue Card”) from an approved driver education course showing that you have completed the classroom portion of the course and have enrolled in behind-the-wheel training. Classroom instruction is not required if you are 18 years of age or older. For information on home-schooling rules and regulations, go to dvs.dps.mn.gov.

At exam stations where the test is offered on a computer. The test can, however, also be offered on paper. You can take the test in English or one of several other languages. If you ask, you can also get headphones. They allow you to hear the questions as you read them.

If you fail, you must wait one day. You may take only one knowledge test per day. If you fail two consecutive knowledge tests, you will be charged a fee of $10 to take a third test and any subsequent test.

To pass your knowledge test, you must get a score of 80 percent or more.

To help you pass the first time, driversprep.com now has full coverage of the Minnesota driver’s manual. More than 500 questions. Many of them are very similar to the ones you will see on your real test.

 

Start your free test